Premier Sprint Championship 2013, Rd.6

A gloriously sunny day welcomed the drivers as they arrived at Whilton Mill. Brian Trott was the man to beat once again but it was his main rival and reigning champion Chris Powell who took pole for final 1. Matt Brooks had impressive qualifying heats to line up alongside with Trott 3rd, Richard Higham 4th and the ever improving Tim Clark 5th.

Trott got the jump on Brooks at the start and slotted in behind Powell. He made a bid for the lead on the following lap and soon started easing out a gap. Ian Blake was a man on the move and dispatched Higham and Brooks. Higham’s race didn’t last much longer and, along with Tim Clark, dropped out of contention. Jamie Crease was having a strong showing and was up to 4th and chasing down Blake in 3rd. Further ahead, Trott managed the gap to Powell and won by over half a second. Blake finished a comfortable 3rd.

Chris Hanson put in a great lap to secure pole for final 2 with Trott looking menacing in 2nd and Goddard 3rd. Chris Powell was sure to be a threat in 4th and Jamie Crease continued a strong morning in 5th.

The front 2 got away but it was Blake who made the best start, jumping from 6th to 3rd on the opening lap. However, the following lap saw an even more epic move from Chris Powell. With the top 6 bunched up and jostling for position, he manoeuvred his way from 5th to 1st. Over the course of the next few laps he increased his lead while Trott, Blake and Clark jostled for position. At the flag, Powell won by some 5.6s with Blake 2nd and Trott 3rd.