Philippou’s penalty hands Osborn memorable win

59480360 2348772151847346 183183984421765120 o


After a year away, Club100 returned to the Llandow circuit for round four of the sprint 60 championship. Despite a cold wind, the sun was out as the afternoon races got underway. Mike Philippou was the fastest man in qualifying, taking pole by just seven hundredths of a second from Myles Sharman. Steve Jennings and Andrew Hall Jr made up the second row. It was an unusually poor qualifying for championship leader Matt Edmondson-Jones who only managed eighth. Tim Hill was even further back in thirteenth so would almost certainly be one to watch.

Andrew Cherry popped into pole position in the super heavyweight class. Tarik Almou was second with Richard Allen third. Chris Dean didn’t participate and started thirty fourth and last on the grid.

Race 1

Philippou got away cleanly from pole and Steve Jennings maintained second. A poor start for Myles Sharman saw him drop from third to sixth behind Stuart Osborn and Andrew Hall Jr. Further back, a lightning start saw Richard Allen take the early lead in the lardyboy class. Andrew Cherry dropped behind tarik Almou in third.

It remained very close at the front for the first few laps. Although Philippou had built up a gap of over a second early on, there was a chain of karts from second to ninth all separated by a few tenths of a second. Jennings was bumped down to fifth by Osborn, Sharman and Hall Jr on lap five and then dropped back even further over the next few laps, seemingly struggling for pace.

In the fat boy class, Tarik Almou had worked his way past Richard Allen to take the lead. Allen struggled to get past Jack Noller which allowed Almou to build up a good cushion. Andrew Cherry was holding station in third and there was a huge gap to the battle for fourth which saw Damien Holmes fending off a charging Chris Dean.

Stuart Osborn had whittled Philippou’s lead down to under a second but Philippou responded and, by half distance, had started to increase his lead again. Sharman was still in third with Hall Sr now leading his son by a few tenths. Tim Hill had made some good progress and was running sixth. Hall Jr nailed his old man at the hairpin with ten laps to go and pulled away after Hall Sr got caught up in traffic.

Disappointment for the race leader as he was handed a four place penalty for advantage by contact after a small coming together with a backmarker. Tim Hill and Matt Edmondson-Jones would also pick up the same penalty.

Over the last few laps, Mike Philippou extended his lead to over three seconds and crossed the line to take an easy lights-to-flag victory over Staurt Osborn. However, his earlier infraction dropped him to fifth. This handed the win to Osborn and promoted Myles Sharman to second, just half a second behind the new winner. The Halls came home third and fourth with Jr beating Sr. Tarik Almou Finished sixth and first in the horizontally challenged class. Richard Allen came home a comfortable second. Further back and the fight for third raged on until the final corner with Damien Holmes coming home just over half a second clear of Andrew Cherry. Chris Dean’s recovery drive saw him finish fourth and just off the top three.

Race 2

Stuart Osborn took up his position at the head of the back for race two but was jumped at the start by the fast starting Andrew Hall Jr. Mike Philippou also made a flying start to slot into second by the time the field came round to complete lap one. Myles Sharman also lost a couple of places at the start and dropped to fourth.

Tarik Almou made a good start to lead the super heavies round the opening lap, with Richard Allen second. Andrew Cherry, Chris Dean, Damien Holmes, Paul Goddard and Peter Gillett all ran close in the early laps.

Philippou took the lead from Hall at the end of lap four and built up a small gap over the next few laps. Hall Jr was pulling clear of Stuart Osborn who had Myles Sharman all over the back of him. A few seconds further back, Calum Jones was leading a train of karts comprising Paul and Steve Jennings, Matt Edmondson-Jones and super fatty Richard Allen who had taken the lead from Almou.

By half distance, Philippou’s lead was nearly three seconds. Hall Jr was two seconds clear of Osborn who just couldn’t shake Sharman. The battle behind was extremely close with Jones somehow managing to hold Jennings at bay. Further back, there were a number of good scraps going on for the minor positions. Rhys Collins was having a good battle with Stuart Kirk and Simon Delamare. Jeremy Deeks, Georgios Moschonas and Tony Holmes were in a three way battle near the back but it was closer than any battle at the front.

Sadly we lost Phil Kendall, Jack Noller and Tim Hill early on after incidents but there were no such dramas for the front runners. Mike Philippou continued to lead Hall Jr by a handul of seconds. Hall was maintaining a similar gap over the battling Osborn and Sharman. Myles Sharman took Osborn for third on lap 24. Calum Jones pulled a similar move on Paul Jennings. Matt Edmondson-Jones was sat bclose behind this fight and was ready to pounce at the first opportunity. It had been a bit of a lacklustre day for the championship leader who never seemed to look comfortable at this track.

Over the final few laps, Mike Philippou had extended his lead to over seven seconds and so won easily from Andrew Hall Jr. Myles Sharman came home third. Stuart Osborn, despite coming under increasing pressure from behind, managed to cling on to fourth place ahead of Calum Jones and Matt Edmondson-Jones. The Jennings brothers enjoyed a last lap battle and crossed the line separated by just three thousandths of a second.

The super chubby win went to Richard Allen. Tarik Almou was a comfortable second and Chris Dean was third.

Final Result

With an inherited win in race one and a solid fourth place in race two, Stuart Osborn took his first ever Club100 victory after eleven years of trying. Nice one! Mike Philippou must have been kicking himself. After winning both races outright, his four place penalty in the first race cost him overall victory. He settled for second. Myles Sharman and Andrew Hall Jr tied for points in third and also tied on race finishing positions but Sharman took third by virtue of setting a faster lap. Now that’s close.

Tarik Almou took victory in the pie eating class. Second was Richard Allen, and Chris Dean had a great recovery to take third overall – just edging out Andrew Cherry on countback.

59765173 2348772111847350 6168970460500328448 o