Lightweight Sprint Championship, 2014, Rd.5

IMGP2831 scaled

James DeHavillande took the honours in the first heat with the evergreen Steve Townsend right on his tail. Tom Thickpenny took fourth just ahead of slightly disappointing Chris Brown. James Small had the second heat and was quickest overall from the two heats to secure pole for the first A final. Championship leader David Longman was way down the field and only just made the cut for the first A Final.

Sprint B final 1

William Hemsley just missed the cut for A final but had the pole for the first B final from Dan Truman. Hemsley led the pack away with Truman tucked in behind along with Greg Aaron just behind. Robert Parkman held fourth but Rhianna Purcock lost out in the melee at the first corner to slip behind a fast starting Will Foulkes. Down the field Ben Atkinson had made rapid progress but his forceful driving had already earned him a four place deduction. At the front Truman sliced by Hemsley for the lead at the end of lap 2. A lap later Aaron took Hemsley for second and closed in on Truman for the lead. Parkman was running a comfortable fourth with Purcock now back into fifth after a short but decisive battle with Foulkes. Foulkes lost his rhythm a little and fell back to ninth. The race then settled into something of a procession but Purcocks was desperate to make the A final and disposed Parkman for fourth who then fell away from the front four. He would finish a lonely fifth. Truman took the win with Aaron right on his bumper and setting fastest lap on the penultimate tour. Hemsley took third with Purcocks a few Kart Lengths adrift.

Sprint A final 1

Small made good use of his pole to lead away from DeHavillande. Steve Townsend was by Wakeman for third but the main man on the move was Chris brown who got inside Powell and Thickpenny into the second phase of the first chicane. It was a move however that brought controversy as Powell and Thickpenny jumped out of the way and fell to the back of the field. Mutley however adjudged that Brown had been overly aggressive and Brown took a four place penalty. Video replays showed that Brown had made minimal contact but the damage was done. Our clerks give it as they see it and there will inevitably be times when they get decisions wrong but they are always honest decisions. Mean while DeHavillande was hounding Small for the lead with Townsend keeping a watching brief. Brown was having a good battle with Wakeman over fourth., the two swapping positions several times before Brown realised he had a penalty which somewhat curbed his style as he settled for fifth. Thickpenny was making a great comeback through the field setting fastest lap as early as the fourth tour. Eleventh appeared scant reward for a fine drive, which also i8ncluded a four place penalty, but it would see him on pole for the second final. Dehavillande kept Small at bay to take the win with Townsend a lonely third. Wakeman took fourth from a subdued Brown who was demoted to eighth. Miguel Hall put in a fine drive from Grid 18 to finish sixth on the roads which became fifth after Browns penalty.

Sprint B final 2

Matthew Cooley sat on pole with Robert Parkman alongside. Alexandru Damian was third with Will Foulkes alongside and looking to make up for a disappointing first final. With just two places up for grabs and the first eight covered by just a couple of tenths the stage was set for an exciting race. Cooley sprinted away from pole with Parkman tucked in behind from Damian. Then Damian got a run on Parkman to take second but promptly threw it all away with a spin which dropped him to the back of the field and out of contention. Foulkes was by Parkman for and closing rapidly on Cooley for the lead. Down the field Jon Watkins, Chris Williams and David Williams were having an almighty scrap in the midfield. John Hughes, starting from tenth, was keeping out of trouble and making steady progress. Foulkes then took Cooley for third at the end of lap 4 and began to pull away as Cooley and Parkman delayed each other fighting over second. At the start of Lap 9 Parkman finally made a move stick to take second but Cooley was in no mood to sit back and continued to attack. Sadly his efforts came to nought as his over exuberance got the better of him and a spin dropped him to the rear of the field. Ben Atkinson was making spectacular progress through the field getting the better of John Hughes. At the front though Foulkes took an easy win, and fastest lap, from Parkman with Atkinson a very impressive third but sadly missing out on a spot in the A final. John Hughes took fourth.

Tom Thickpenny then on the pole. Clearly a very talented young man who has raced extensively in Europe. James DeHavillande was next up from Miguel Hall and James Small, Freddie Fincham, Steve Townsend, Lex Wakeman, Dmitri Zaporozhets, Dan Tueman and Chris Brown completing the top ten. Thickpenny was away and into the lead but he was getting away from DeHavillande and Small, the latter swiftly by Hall for third. Chris Brown got a good start and moved himself up a couple of places but Zaporozhets was falling away being swiftly dispatched by Brown, Wakeman and the impressive Rhianna Purcock. Harrison Darvill was early spinner and there was to be no joy for B final winner Foulkes who made up plces at the start but then fell to the back of the pack. Thickpenny continued to lead and was inching away from Dehavillande and Small. These three were in a race of their own edging steadily away from the chasing pack. By lap 8 Brown had forced his way into fourth ahead of Hall and Fincham but he could make no inroads into the the gap to the three leaders. Meanwhile Purcocks was having an eventful race. Up to ninth from Grid 11 she fell back to eleventh but she was the star of the second part of the race climbing steadily through the field to fifth and chasing Brown for fourth. Thickpenny continued to lead and pulled a seconds gap as DeHavillande went defensive against the charging Small. Small was not to be denied however and took DeHavillande for second on the last lap